Graduate Studies Committee/Recruitment, Admissions and Financial Aid Committee Annual Report 2015-16

Members: Kelzie Beebe (student member), Scott Bellini, Chad Christensen, John Hitchcock, Marjorie Manifold, Alex McCormick (Chair), Mary McMullen, Sam Museus, Sandra Strain, Erik Tillema

Ex-Officio: Elizabeth Boling, Ghangis Carter, Brendan Maxcy, Annela Teemant

Staff: Matthew Boots, Leslie Chrapliwy, Jezreel McMillen, Liyao Zhao

Meetings: Eight meetings were held during the 2015-16 academic year.

Course Proposals

- C680- course change request approved
- L621- new course request approved with minor changes
- J645- new course request approved
- L650- course change request approved
- P631- course change request approved
- P633- course change request approved with minor changes
- P507- course change request approved
- P540- course change request approved
- P513- course change request approved
- P517- course change request approved
- P510- course change request approved
- P518- course change request approved with minor changes
- Q610- course change request approved
- Q601- course change request approved with minor changes
- P574- course change request approved

Academic Programs/Certificates

Doctoral minor in History of Education approved with minor changes

MSEd in Mental Health Counseling revisions approved

College Pedagogy Certificate approved

Doctoral Minor in College Pedagogy revisions approved

Proposal for UES Doctoral Program Qualifying Exams Policy approved with minor changes

Policy Studies PhD revisions approved with minor changes

EdD Minor in Literacy, Cultural, and Language Education approved with minor changes

New Policy or Change in Policy

Policy on Visiting Scholars approved

The International Programs Committee voted on a Visiting Scholar policy in spring 2015. The vote produced a number of documents which would hold visiting scholars, as well as their hosts, more tightly to a process of international study. One of the primary motivations for the policy was to ensure that visiting scholars had academic or other recognized appointments. Scholars and their hosts will now file forms with Conney Freese-Posthuma in the Dean's Office in order to keep track of scholars and their contributions to IUB.

Policy on Re-application to Programs Following Academic Dismissal approved

This new policy states that once a student is dismissed (as distinct from expelled) for academic reasons, the student may not reapply to a program in School of Education for a period of two years from the date of dismissal. The official language agreed on is: "Application to any School of Education program will not be accepted for a period of two years from the date of an academic dismissal."

Policy on Faculty Qualifications to Teach in Graduate Programs approved

This policy was created to bring the School of Education's practice in alignment with upcoming changes to standards of the Higher Learning Commission. It states that instructors teaching in graduate programs should hold the terminal degree determined by the discipline and have a record of research, scholarship or achievement appropriate for the graduate program. At the doctoral level, the instructor's record should be commensurate with doctoral expectations. Faculty mentoring advanced doctoral students in co-teaching situations to afford them the experience must act as instructor of record, actively oversee the teaching activities of the co-teaching student, and assess the performance of enrolled students. This policy replaces Policy 13.37 which applied only to IUPUI, and applies to both IUB and IUPUI.

Additional items

The committee approved a proposed change in procedure for course proposals. The procedure states that in future course proposals, the sample syllabus should reflect the delivery mode of the course (face-to-face, online, or hybrid), and that if multiple versions of a course are proposed, the proposal should incorporate multiple syllabi. It was noted that if the course proposal is just for a face-to-face course, an online syllabus is not required.

Program Review

Five programs presented their reviews to the committee, and described their response to the reviews: Doctoral Program in Art Education, Doctoral Program in Curriculum Studies, MSEd Program in International and Comparative Education, MSEd Program in Adult Education, and PhD Program in IST.

Awards

The Graduate Studies Committee/Recruitment, Admissions and Financial Aid Committee is responsible for recommending recipients of the Beechler Award, the Dean's Fellowship, the

Outstanding Dissertation Award, and the Award for Excellence in Mentoring. Subcommittees were established to review and select the recipients for all but the mentoring award which is determined by a student committee. Subcommittee chairs were Chad Christensen (Dean's Fellowship), John Hitchcock (Outstanding Dissertation), and Sam Museus (Beechler). A summary of recipients appears below.

- Beechler Award: Ming-E Chen, Cesur Dagli, Tao Liu, Mina Min, Asmalina Saleh, and Sary Silvhiany.
- Dean's Fellowship: Four fellowships were offered and two were accepted (Keiko McCullough [CEP] and Julia Juska [IST]). The other two awardees (from ELPS and CEP) chose to enroll elsewhere.
- Outstanding Dissertation: As of this report the selection committee's deliberations have not concluded.
- Excellence in Mentoring: Serafin Coronel-Molina.

No old business remained on the agenda

Respectfully submitted, Alexander C. McCormick, GSC/RAFA Chair April 25, 2016